top of page

Missed an episode?

Listen to any past episode on Spotify.

Check out our Facebook page...

Like us on social media.

  • Writer's picture~TB

Brad Marchand Won't Change


On Wednesday, the Boston media had its last official opportunity to speak to the 2017-2018 Bruins. As the players cleaned out the equipment and belongings out of their lockers, media members made their rounds, getting the end-of-season thoughts of this year's breakout stars, underachievers, and veterans alike.


Naturally, some made their way to the locker of polarizing forward Brad Marchand, and--as one would expect--the issue of Marchand’s playoff conduct was brought up. Here’s what Brad had to say on the issue of licking other players:

“I think the biggest thing for me now is to really take a pretty hard look in the mirror and realize some of the things I’m doing have much bigger consequences than I may ever think or believe will come of it. I’ve always been an easygoing guy and there’s not a whole lot that phases me at all. It’s kind of gotten to the point where especially the last thing I want to do is bring the embarrassment to my organization and my team that I did. I think it’s different for the fact that it’s different when I kind of bring the heat down on myself, but when you start kind of bringing some heat to the team and organization and being a distraction, that’s when it kind of hits you a little bit harder. It’s tougher when you start to disappoint the team and everyone. That’s a bit of a wake-up call. Even if I drop to 25 (goals), but I cut the s— out, it’s worth it.” (via FanSided)

I hate to be the pessimist in the room, but I don’t buy a lick of this. Time and time again, Marchand has stepped out of line, been reprimanded by the league or organization, and apologized to the media. People like this don’t just change because they decide they want to; this is the sort of character issue that isn’t resolved by making a bigger effort because of a “wake-up call.”


Do you honestly believe that Marchand is only now realizing that his actions have consequences affecting people other than himself? Do you truly think he’s had some sort of come-to-Jesus moment after a career consisting of six suspensions and almost $20k in fines? For better or worse, Brad Marchand is the player he is. If it makes you feel any better, I don’t think his disciplinary issues are entirely his fault; they’re just part of the athlete he is.


In his Players’ Tribune article, Marchand stated plainly “If I played the game any other way, you absolutely would not know my name. You wouldn’t care enough to hate me, because I wouldn’t be in the NHL. The way I played the game got me noticed by junior teams, and it got me drafted by the Boston Bruins at 5’9”.” Clearly, it’s the way he’s been playing the game for years: as a pest. His behind-the-whistle slashes, slew-foots, and chirps are all baked into how he’s been taught to play the sport. If you’ve been going about your business with a specific style for your whole hockey career, you don’t just reinvent yourself because you’ve turned into a 30-goal scorer.


I’m of the mind that he made a concerted effort this postseason to play in a way that would keep him out of the box and off the phone with the Department of Player Safety. That’s probably why we saw this whole licking fiasco; it was a way for him to channel that part of his game into a form that wouldn’t get him suspended. I’m sorry to say it, but the guy can’t not be a pest. It’s who he is, and nothing that any coach, captain, or GM says is ever going to change it. So when Bruce Cassidy, Don Sweeney, or any member of the media approaches him and asks if he’s turned over a new leaf, they should know the answer.


(Stats via MassLive.com, Spotrac and Hockey Reference)

Comments


bottom of page