top of page

Missed an episode?

Listen to any past episode on Spotify.

Check out our Facebook page...

Like us on social media.

  • Writer's picture-SC

Boston Sports Update

Updated: Jun 9, 2018


Here are the top two storylines in Boston Sports today:


LeBron to the Celtics?

ESPN personality Stephen A. Smith made headlines earlier today on First Take when he said,

"LeBron James is going to have a conversation with the Cleveland Cavaliers. They can offer him the most, and they are willing to do anything they can to keep him here, etc. etc., and obviously the wife is going to have a major, major say in things. So you got that going on. He's going to have a conversation with Boston. He's going to have a conversation with Philly. Obviously the Lakers. Houston's in the mix as well. They are going to go after him. Make no mistake about it."

Essentially, Smith included the Celtics in the mix along with the Cavs, Lakers, Rockets, Warriors, Heat, and the 76ers.


First of all, I don’t think he’s going to come to Boston, but I’ll entertain the idea for now. Naturally, the question before Celtics fans is whether or not we actually want King James to come here. The answer might be an obvious ‘yes’ for some, as LeBron is widely regarded as both the best player in the world and one of the greatest ever, and he would certainly make the Celtics the obvious favorites to win it all.


While I understand all of that, the fact of the matter is that LeBron James is a historic rival of Boston, just as Peyton Manning and Magic Johnson once were, so I’m not sure bringing him here would be very enjoyable for my fellow Green Teamers. Can anyone imagine if Peyton Manning had, for some reason, become the quarterback of the Patriots after being their ultimate enemy for his whole career? It just doesn’t make a lot of sense. Why ruin a great rivalry like that for no reason at all?


The Celtics already have the best starting five in the NBA with Kyrie Irving, Gordon Hayward, Jayson Tatum, Jaylen Brown, and Al Horford, so there’s really no need to mess everything up to add LeBron. First of all, Kyrie wouldn’t want to play with him––discounting the reported falling-out between the two, Irving left Cleveland so he could be the star. Secondly, adding LeBron would impede the growth of Tatum and Brown. So, if the argument against adding James because of his rival status doesn’t satisfy you, then there are two very practical reasons not to bring him aboard.


This is not to say that I would stop being a Celtics fan if they were to sign LeBron James, but I would prefer to see the rivalry between Boston and LeBron continue and the young stars of Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown to lead the coming Celtics dynasty.


Gronk Explains Why He Didn’t Attend OTAs

As ESPN’s Mike Reiss detailed, Rob Gronkowski said yesterday that he didn’t attend OTAs because “I wanted to take care of my body, take care of myself and see where I was at before I came out here. I think it was a good decision. I was having all different thoughts—see if I really wanted to go through it again.”


I have no problem with Rob Gronkowski skipping OTAs to take care of his body. Obviously, he has dealt with a great deal of injuries and is entitled to some extra rest, but how he went about it was absolutely unacceptable. You can’t tell me you skipped OTAs to take of your body and then show up to the stadium in a dirt bike uniform, talking about how you need to improve your “moves” (Not to mention the wrestling stint with the WWE). If rest is really what you want, then just lay low for awhile and rest up.

His second reason for skipping OTAs was that he didn’t know if he wanted to continue playing football. That is ridiculous. If I were Gronk, I’d retire pretty damn soon, but I certainly wouldn’t hold my team hostage. He should have made the decision on whether or not to come back long before OTAs began.

Comentarios


bottom of page