top of page

Missed an episode?

Listen to any past episode on Spotify.

Check out our Facebook page...

Like us on social media.

  • Writer's picture-SC

Rejecting Bar Soap and All Its Evils: A T&L PSA

Updated: May 11, 2018



Over the course of my travels during school vacation, I have come across multiple situations in which the only option to wash my hands was to use bar soap.


Now, as someone who is used to using liquid soap, I have been revolted by this recurring problem.


While my critics will say that I should not be writing about this topic because Third and Long is a sports site, I say they are thoroughly incorrect. Even though hand washing is not a sport (at least not in this dimension), the evils of bar soap must be exposed at all costs, and Third and Long will lead the way in this holy cause.


Bar soap is disgusting. Think about all the other people who have used that same bar before you. Do you really want their germs all over you? Doesn’t that contradict the entire point of washing your hands?


On the other hand, the only thing that you and those before you touch when using liquid soap is the top of the dispenser, and dispensers that are motion-sensored remove that small problem entirely.


Here is an infographic I made to illustrate this:



Now, if that isn’t convincing enough, here is the opinion straight from Jessica Weiser, M.D., in an interview with instyle.com:

“Bar soap does harbor bacteria on its surface, so there is a potential risk of self-contamination or potentially spreading bacteria to someone else if the bar soap is shared. Bar soap is moist and warm and therefore harbors more potential for bacterial and fungal growth on its surface.”

Then, vindicating my pro-liquid soap position, Weiser says that liquid soap, “is more sanitary because it is dispensed in single use quantities and the remaining product is protected in the bottle.”


Well, there you have it.


It is imperative for the well-being of humanity that we reject bar soap and all its evils. Some may call me a germaphobe for this take, but they are wrong. I am not scared of germs, as “phobe” suggests; I simply recognize them as a worthy adversary that must be bludgeoned into submission with the awesome powers of liquid soap.

Comments


bottom of page